Matt Whitley in England Knights Performance Squad


Matt Whitley has been named in the revised England Knights Performance Squad announced today to prepare for this autumn’s historic international fixture against Jamaica at the Emerald Headingley Stadium.

The revised 37-man squad includes 19 players who experienced last autumn’s two-match trip to Papua New Guinea. They will meet in Leeds in August and September before the Knights head coach Paul Anderson trims the squad to prepare for the fixture against Jamaica on Sunday October 20.

“It’s important that we revise the Knights squad on the basis of 2019 form, and it’s good that the guys now have the focus of the Jamaica game,” said Anderson, who has combined his role this year with a position as Warrington’s Academy Head Coach, and will again be assisted by Paul Sculthorpe in his role as the RFL’s England Pathways Coach.

“All five new faces have earned their call-ups with their club performances in 2019 – Jordan Abdull and Rob Butler for London Broncos, Josh Bowden for Hull FC, Harry Newman for Leeds and Oliver Wilson for Bradford and Huddersfield.

“Harry and Oliver have moved quickly from the Academy squad who did so well last winter to the Knights set-up, and that’s exactly how we want our Pathways to work. There’s so much exciting young talent in the domestic game, and I’m really looking forward to working with this group for the rest of the 2019.”


England Knights Performance Squad (all players listed with professional and community clubs):

Alex Foster (Castleford Tigers, Wetherby Bulldogs)
Mike McMeeken (Castleford Tigers, Staines Titans)
Greg Minikin (Castleford Tigers, Wetherby Bulldogs
Matt Whitley (Catalans Dragons, Bold Miners)
Matt English (Huddersfield Giants, Stanley Rangers)
Kruise Leeming (Huddersfield Giants, Siddal)
Darnell McIntosh (Huddersfield Giants, Dewsbury Celtic)
Oliver Wilson (Huddersfield Giants, Greetland All Rounders)
Chris Atkin (Hull KR, Liverpool John Moores University)
Robbie Mulhern (Hull KR, Normanton Knights)
Josh Bowden (Hull FC, Hull Wyke)
Masimbaashe Matongo (Hull FC, West Hull)
Ash Handley (Leeds Rhinos, Oulton Raiders)
Harry Newman (Leeds Rhinos, Newsome Panthers)
Mikolaj Oledzki (Leeds Rhinos, Hunslet Warriors)
Cameron Smith (Leeds Rhinos, Lock Lane)
Liam Sutcliffe (Leeds Rhinos, Hunslet Warriors)
Jack Walker (Leeds Rhinos, East Leeds)
Jordan Abdull (London Broncos, Skirlaugh)
Rob Butler (London Broncos, Medway Dragons)
Niall Evalds (Salford Red Devils, Siddal)
Josh Jones (Salford Red Devils, Blackbrook Royals)
Jack Ashworth (St Helens, Rochdale Mayfield)
Matt Lees (St Helens, Rochdale Mayfield)
Danny Richardson (St Helens, Halton Farnworth Hornets)
James Batchelor (Wakefield Trinity, Crigglestone All Blacks)
Toby King (Warrington Wolves, Meltham All Blacks)
Tom Lineham (Warrington Wolves, York RUFC)
Dec Patton (Warrington Wolves, Latchford Giants)
Joe Philbin (Warrington Wolves, Culcheth Eagles)
Danny Walker (Warrington Wolves, Rylands Sharks)
Joe Bullock (Wigan Warriors, Blackpool Scorpions)
Tom Davies (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
Joe Greenwood (Wigan Warriors, Saddleworth Rangers)
Liam Marshall (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
Dom Manfredi (Wigan Warriors, Leigh Miners)
Sam Powell (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)